Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Principal Investigators

Richard Haynes

Richard Haynes

Professor of Renal Medicine and Clinical Trials

Will Herrington

Will Herrington

Associate Professor

MRC-Kidney Research UK Professor David Kerr Clinician Scientist

David Preiss

David Preiss

Associate Professor

steering committee co-chairs

Colin Baigent

Colin Baigent

Professor of Epidemiology and Director, MRC PHRU

Martin Landray

Sir Martin Landray

Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology


Jon Emberson

Jon Emberson

Professor of Medical Statistics and Epidemiology

Natalie Staplin

Natalie Staplin

Associate Professor

MRC PHRU Senior Statistician



Parminder Judge

Senior Clinical Research Fellow

Emily Sammons.png

Emily Sammons

Lead Safety Officer

MRC PHRU Research Fellow

Doreen Zhu

Doreen Zhu

Clinical Research Fellow

Sarah Ng.png

Sarah Ng

Clinical Research Fellow

Kaitlin Mayne.jpg

Kaitlin Mayne

Clinical Research Fellow

The Central Co-ordinating Office (CCO) team in Mar 2020

EMPA-KIDNEY Oxford team photo 2020-03-09.jpg

Central co-ordinating OFFICE TRIAL STAFF

Senior Trial Managers: Rejive Dayanandan, Kevin Murphy & Liz Wincott

Trial Managers:  Cristina Badin, Andy Burke, Mo Gray, Emily Harding (US & Canada), Ryonfa Lee and Aikiko Omata (Germany & Japan), Nik Luker, John Nolan, Michelle Nunn, YanRu Qiao (UK), Qin Yan, Kelly Yu (China & Malaysia)

2018-2020: Lucy Fletcher (Canada & USA), Richard Brown (Germany)

2019-2021: Akiko Hashimoto

2018-2021: Shraddha Shah

Trial Administrators: Sue Fathers, Julia Heineman, Lyn Howie, Sandra Pickworth, Alison Timadjer, Monique Willett

2018-2019: Patricia Achiri

Statistics: Rebecca Sardell

Central co-ordinating OFFICE training and monitoring team

Nurse Monitors: Joanne Davies, Jenny Ingell, Patrick Zettergren

2018-2021: Carol Knott (previous EMPA-KIDNEY Head of Training and Monitoring)

Trial Master File

TMF Manager: Hannah Gosling

TMF Administrator: Chrissie Ambrose

developMENT TEAM

Developers: Rach AitSadi, Alex Baxter, Lukasz Danel, Sonja Grotjahn, Rijo Kurian, Mike Lay, Archie Maskill, Rowan Moys, Ola Murawska, Rachel Raff, Allen Young

Laboratory Programmers: Mark Caple

Testing: Bob Goodenough (Lead), Angela Field, Guanguo Cui, Charles Daniels, Ashley Lawson, Youcef Mostefai, Dheeptha Radhakrishnan, Samee Syed, Shuang Xia

Senior Analyst/Programmers: Will Stevens & Karl Wallendszus

Central Co-ordinating Office Laboratory Staff

Mike Hill

Mike Hill

Laboratory Scientific Director

Stewart Moffat.jpg

Stewart Moffat

Senior Laboratory Manager